We use essential cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set analytics cookies that help us make improvements by measuring how you use the site. These will be set only if you accept.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our cookies page.

Essential Cookies

Essential cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. For example, the selections you make here about which cookies to accept are stored in a cookie.

You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics Cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify you.

Third Party Cookies

Third party cookies are ones planted by other websites while using this site. This may occur (for example) where a Twitter or Facebook feed is embedded with a page. Selecting to turn these off will hide such content.

Skip to main content

Local Government

Local Authorities

Name Description Contact Website

Somerset  Council

The Council’s duties and services

The Council’s duties and services are managed by the elected councillors (known within the Council as ‘members’) through its democratic structure.

In accordance with government legislation, the Unitary Council has:

  • Appointed a Leader of Council, who has formed a single party Executive of ten members (together they take key decisions and are responsible for the day-to-day running of the Council)
  • Five cross party Scrutiny Committees:
    • Scrutiny for Climate and Place
    • Scrutiny for Children and Families
    • Scrutiny for Adults and Health
    • Scrutiny for Communities
    • Scrutiny for Corporate and Resources
  • A Licensing and Regulatory Committee responsible for the Council’s licensing functions
  • A Strategic Planning Committee, along with 4 Area Planning Committees responsible for the Council’s planning and regulatory functions
  • A Health and Wellbeing Board involving representatives from several partners

The Unitary Council of 110 elected members is responsible for deciding the democratic arrangements for the Council, agreeing our policy framework and each year’s budget.

You can telephone us during office hours on 01934 888 888. Your call will be answered by an automated service, which will put you through to the team you ask for. For example, you could say “new bin” or “social services”. For emergencies outside of office hours, you can reach us on 01934 622 669.


Name Council Email Telephone

John Bailey, Unitary Authority Councillor

Somerset Council

Martock Division

New Somerset Council

 [email protected]

Emily Pearlstone, Unitary Authority Councillor

Somerset Council Martock Division

New Somerset Council

 [email protected]

Marcus Fysh MP

Member of Parliament for the the Yeovil Constituency

[email protected]

020 7219 4527